22.5 C

Abhinav was the most expensive purchase at the Maharaja Trophy auction, while Agarwal and Padikkal also brought in a lot of money


At the Maharaja Trophy auction on Saturday in Bengaluru, batsmen dominated the market, with Mayank Agarwal, Devdutt Padikkal, and Manish Pandey all drawing significant offers. The middle-order hitter Abhinav Manohar, who was signed for INR 15 lakh by Shivamogga Lions, one of the two new teams in addition to Mangalore Dragons in the six-team competition that will take place from August 13 to 29, received the highest bid, nevertheless.

Bengaluru Blasters paid INR 14 lakh for Agarwal, while reigning champions Gulbarga Mystics and Hubli Tigers offered INR 13.2 lakh and INR 10.6 lakh for Padikkal and Pandey, respectively.

throughout 700 cricketers from all throughout the state were allotted slots and divided into four groups for auction. Players from India and the IPL fell into Category A, while those who had participated in senior BCCI events were in Category B. Category C was composed of state competitors from all of the BCCI’s age-group competitions. The state’s remaining athletes were placed in Category D brackets.

Fast bowlers Prasidh Krishna, who is about to make his return to competitive cricket after more than a year, moved to Mysuru Warriors for INR 7.4 lakh, and Vijaykumar Vyshak, who got his first IPL contract with Royal Challengers Bangalore earlier this year, was signed for INR 8.8 million by Mystics.

Shreyas Gopal and K Gowtham, two all-around spin bowlers, joined Lions and Dragons for INR 7.4 lakh and INR 6.6 lakh, respectively. Karun Nair, who is now playing small county cricket in England, returned to Warriors for INR 6.8 lakh despite rumours that he was eager to play domestic cricket outside of his home state. Nair hasn’t represented Karnataka in any level of cricket in over a year.

Nikin Jose, one of the younger players, was acquired by Dragons for INR 7 lakh and is presently competing for the emerging team in the Asia Cup in Sri Lanka. Jose established himself across formats with a successful debut season and is now regarded as an all-format regular.

After a season in which the KSCA had complete control over all cricket-related matters, from player draughts to payments to staff appointments, the tournament returns to a franchise model this year. At the time, the KSCA stated that the change was made with consideration for the nation’s tax regulations in addition to “restoring credibility” after the event had been hit by a number of spot-fixing allegations.

At that time, payments were uniform according to the grades to which players belonged, and the KSCA’s cricket committee, led by the organization’s then-president and former India allrounder Roger Binny, had formed a core group of six selectors to participate in the draught process.

The five other teams will play each team twice. Similar to the IPL playoff system, the top four will then compete in qualifiers and elimination rounds. At Bengaluru’s M Chinnaswamy Stadium, all games will be played.

Teams for the Maharaja Trophy

The members of the Gulbarga Mystics are Devdutt Padikkal, KP Appana, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Srinivas Sharath, LR Chethan, Aqib Jawad, R Smaran, KV Aneesh, Macneil Noronha, Sharan Goud, Abhilash Shetty, Hardik Raj, Shimon Luiz, Avinash D, Yashovardhan

Mohammed Taha, Vidhwath Kaverappa, MB Darshan, Shivam MB, Naga Bharath, Santokh Singh, Mohith BA, Manvanth Kumar L, Mitrakant Singh Yadav, Malliksab G, Nathan D’mello, Rakshekar Harikant, and Clement Raju are all members of the Hubli Tigers.

Koushik V, Sharath HS, Kranthi Kumar, Rohan Kadam, Shreyas Puranik, Pranav Bhatia, Vinay Sagar, Aditya Somanna, Adhoksh Hegde, Pavan Shridi, Rohan Naveen, Shivaraj, Rohit Kumar K, Nischith Rao, and Deepak Devadiga are all members of the Shivamogga Lions.

Karun Nair, Suchith J, Prasidh Krishna, Shoaib Manager, Samarth R, Karthik CA, Venkatesh M, Tushar Singh, Kushal Wadhwani, Shashi Kumar K, Rakshith S, Shreesha S Achar, Monish Reddy, Aditya Mani, Gautam Mishra, Rahul Singh Rawat, and Bharath Dhuri are members of the Mysuru Warriors.

The following players represent the Bengaluru Blasters: Mohsin Khan, Aashish Mahesh, Rishi Bopanna, Suraj Ahuja, Aaron Christie, Abhishek Ahlawat, and Nishchal D. Vidyadhar Patil, Mayank Agarwal, Pradeep T, Mohammed Sarfaraz Ashraf, Pavan Deshpande, Shubhang Hegde, and Nishchal D.

Aaditya Nair, Aditya Goyal, Doddamani Anand, Kruthik Krishna, Gneshwar Naveen, Dheeraj Gowda, and Aneeshwar Gautam are members of the Mangalore Dragons. Krishnappa Gowtham, Krishnamurthy Siddharth, Nikin Jose, BR Sharath, Prateek Jain, Aniruddha Joshi, Rohan Patil, and Gautam

Related articles


Recent articles

whatsapp icon