22.5 C

Australia officially qualifies for the World Test Championship Finals as the first team.


The Indore test match between India and Australia was won by Australia in three days. Australia is now officially the first side to qualify for the World Test Championship finals thanks to the victory. The current cycle started after New Zealand defeated India to win the World Test Championship finals. The team has won 11 of their 18 games for a total of 148 points. They have qualified for the championship round with a winning percentage of 68.52.

The next country to qualify for the World Test Championship finals is India. South Africa was eliminated from the competition after India’s victories in the first two games. Nonetheless, Sri Lanka will play two games against New Zealand and still has a chance to get to the championship. Australia is currently at the top of the list, followed by Sri Lanka, India, and then. If India defeats Australia in the fourth Test, they will qualify for the World Test Championship Final. However Sri Lanka has a chance to snag the last spot if the visitors win or draw.

This will be India’s second straight World Test Championship final if they make it there. They will make sure to put their best effort forward to defeat Australia and take home the trophy after missing the opportunity in the previous cycle. However, none of the teams have been successful as a single unit thus far in the current series. Because the top order appears to be completely lost in front of the spinners, the men in blue must rely too heavily on their lower middle order to score runs. Australia is facing a similar problem while playing spin.

Yet, the visitors were able to deliver an outstanding effort in the third game. The Indian squad fell victim to the turning pitches in both innings as none of the batters, with the exception of Cheteshwar Pujara, reached the fifty-run mark. The second innings’ top bowler, Nathan Lyon, claimed 8 wickets. The WTC finals are scheduled to take place at The Oval in London from June 7 to June 11 with a reserve day (12 June).

Related articles


Recent articles

whatsapp icon