25.8 C

“David Warner retirement tour”—Fans roar as Australian starter Mohammed Shami clean bowls him for 1 run in Nagpur Test.


Day 1 of Australia’s first Test at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur saw David Warner fail (Thursday, February 9).

Mohammed Shami clean-bowled the southpaw for one run.

Warner’s wicket left Team India in trouble at 2/2 in 2.1 overs. Despite a double century in his final Test series against South Africa, the 36-year-old failed.

Warner’s early ejection upset Indian and Australian supporters. They think the right-hander is retiring.

Top Twitter reactions:

David Warner and Usman Khawaja leave early.
After skipper Pat Cummins batted in the Nagpur Test, Australia lost openers David Warner and Usman Khawaja early.

Cummins said:

We’ll bat. Middle looks even. 2017. Excited to start. Good preparedness. We’re well-positioned. Todd Murphy. Handscomb replaces Travis Head.”

Injured Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, and Cameron Green missed the first Test.

Suryakumar Yadav and KS Bharat debuted in Tests. Bharat got his first cap from Cheteshwar Pujara and Yadav from Ravi Shastri.

Three and two spinners have hosted. Kuldeep Yadav and Shubman Gill were not selected. The injury sidelined Shreyas Iyer.

Australia (Playing XI): David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Matt Renshaw, Peter Handscomb, Alex Carey(w), Pat Cummins(c), Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy, Scott Boland.

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Srikar Bharat(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj.

Related articles


Recent articles

whatsapp icon