22.5 C

Deepti Sharma makes history in IND vs WI ICC T20 World Cup match.


During the Twenty20 International match that took place on Wednesday at the ICC Women’s World Cup between India and West Indies, Indian all-rounder Deepti Sharma made history by becoming the first player to score a century in the tournament.

Deepti Sharma, an Indian all-rounder who just recently won a lucrative contract in the first season of the Women’s Premier League (WPL), wrote her name into the annals of cricket history during a Twenty20 International (T20I) match between India and West Indies that took place on Wednesday at the ICC Women’s World Cup. The match was between India and West Indies. Deepti, an off-spinner, was the leader of the bowling attack for Harmanpreet Kaur and company in their second Group B match of the T20 World Cup. This match took place at the Newlands in Cape Town, and it resulted in a batting collapse for the Women from the Caribbean.

In the ninth match of the Twenty20 World Cup, the Women in Blue held West Indies to a score that was below the standard set by the competition. Deepti was the one who took the crucial wickets of Stafanie Taylor and Shemaine Campbelle before dismissing Afy Fletcher for a score of no runs. During her four overs, Deepti allowed only 15 runs while also picking up 3 wickets. Deepti accomplished a landmark achievement in the sport of world cricket by becoming the most effective bowler for the Women in Blue team. The star all-rounder became the first Indian bowler in the shortest format of the game to take 100 wickets. The game is played in India.

The in-form off-spinner was able to beat Fletcher, who was the better player, to make international cricket history. Poonam Yadav, who scored 98, Radha Yadav, who scored 67, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, who scored 58, Jhulan Goswami, who scored 56, and Ekta Bisht, who scored 53 were all surpassed by Deepti, who accomplished the historic feat in the shortest format. Yuzvendra Chahal of India currently holds the record for the most number of wickets taken by a male cricket player in the Twenty20 International format. The team’s spinner Chahal has been responsible for 91 dismissals so far.

Related articles


Recent articles

whatsapp icon