24.5 C
India

Despite a “glitch” in DRS, the decision to fire Ravindra Jadeja was the right one

Published:

The dismissal of Ravindra Jadeja during India’s first innings of the second Test in Port-of-Spain has been clarified. Broadcast commentators stated during the tea analysis programme that the TV umpire made the right call despite “a glitch” in the DRS mechanism.

India had 360 for 5 when Kemar Roach offered a ball wide outside off stump in the 104th over. As Jadeja drove away from his body after accepting the bait, he glanced around to see wicketkeeper Joshua Da Silva leaping to his feet in jubilation. Jadeja showed no emotion. Marais Erasmus, the on-field umpire, was also.

When West Indies contested the on-field ruling of not out, DRS was used, beginning with the spin-vision replay that demonstrated the proximity of the bat and ball. Then, TV umpire Michael Gough requested UltraEdge’s aid.

However, it appeared that the replay was for a different shot that Jadeja took. Jadeja was playing away from his body and the real ball was well outside of the off-stump area. His bat was quite obviously away from his pad when the ball crossed the outside edge of it. However, Jadeja’s bat was so close to the front pad in the footage that UltraEdge clearly showed a spike that his inside edge flicked it. Additionally, the shot he was taking appeared to be a straight-bat shot in the UltraEdge clip. Jadeja was actually in trouble because of a shot that was more like an extra-cover drive.

After concluding that there was an edge, umpire Gough urged the on-field umpire Erasmus to change his mind. Jadeja left the pitch without making a fuss after being dismissed for 61 off 152 balls.

Later, Daren Ganga clarified the situation while responding to images of the correct replay of the wicket delivery while on air with Curtly Ambrose and Samuel Badree. “This is the ball part and the actual replay. While the clip was being shown on the broadcast, he added, “There was no contact with bat on pad. “This UltraEdge is the right one. The most crucial factor was that the final choice was the correct one.

“Just to clear that up and basically set the record straight, it’s just a glitch that happened. It’s not the fault of the umpires or the system.”

Related articles

spot_img

hello world

hello world

Recent articles

spot_img

hello world

whatsapp icon