22.5 C

Ishan Kishan and Rohit Sharma will lead India’s opening lineup in the 2023 Asia Cup, which will be decided by Ravi Shastri, MSK Prasad, and Sandeep Patil


Team India’s 15-person roster for the 2018 Asia Cup has been chosen by former India players MSK Prasad, Sandeep Patil, and Ravi Shastri. On the Star Sports program “Selection Day,” the trio discussed their selection of the team.

Sri Lanka and Pakistan will host the sixteenth Asia Cup, which will take place from August 30 to September 17. The competition will feature six teams in total. There are two groups of three teams each made up of the six teams.

While the defending champions Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh are in Group B, India is in Group A along with Pakistan and Nepal. Before the top two teams go to the final, the top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super 4. On September 2 in Pallekele, Team India is slated to face arch-rival Pakistan in the tournament’s opening match.

India’s team for the 2023 Asia Cup has been selected by former players and selectors:
The India team for the Asia Cup has not yet been announced by the BCCI. According to reports, the team will be announced by the board on August 20. The delay is being caused so that a final report on the status of several injured important players may be obtained.

Shastri, Prasad, and Patil only selected players who were healthy and available for selection for their side. KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer have been left out as a result. Rahul is allegedly going to be chosen in the squad, although Iyer’s ability to compete in the Asia Cup in 2023 is in question.

In terms of the team, Ravi Shastri chose Ishan Kishan to open for Rohit Sharma rather than Shubman Gill. He responded to the request for a top right-left hand combination. But Patil disagreed with Shastri, saying:

“Looking at his form, I’ll go with Shubman Gill. I am aware of the defense MSK and Ravi offered for Kishan. But for the benefit of the team, it is crucial. I disagree that a left-handed opening partner will make Rohit Sharma more at ease. Gill ought to start with him.

Shastri continued, “Sandy makes a really valid point. We discussed Kishan’s progress. A fantastic 2023 has been had by Shubman Gill. The flexibility comes from here. Here, you need to assess the player’s mental state. How will Shubman Gill react if he is asked to bat at No. 3 or No. 4 instead of at the top? No one has a position they own. Virat will bat at number four for the squad if necessary.

In the end, Gill and Rohit Sharma were chosen as the team’s openers, with Gill becoming the third batsman. Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav, and Virat Kohli were dropped to positions four and three, respectively. The team’s three all-rounders are Axar Patel, Ravindra Jadeja, and Hardik Pandya.

The group selected Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav as the team’s specialist spinners, while Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, and Mohammed Shami were chosen as the team’s pacers.

Rohit Sharma (C), Ishan Kishan, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Kuldeep Yadav make up Team India’s 2023 Asia Cup roster.

Related articles


Recent articles

whatsapp icon