22.5 C

Lionel Messi wins Fifa Men’s Player of the Year.


Lionel Messi, who plays forward for Argentina and Paris Saint-Germain, was given the honor of being selected the men’s player of the year at the 2022 Best Fifa Awards.

The winner, who is 35 years old, won the competition by defeating French strikers Kylian Mbappe and Karim Benzema.

Messi led Argentina to victory in the World Cup in Qatar, where they were crowned champions, and scored 27 goals in 49 games for both club and country in 2021–2022.

Alexia Putellas, who plays for Barcelona, was selected as the best female player of the year.

Both Wiegman and Putellas were awarded the most prestigious prizes for women.

The honor was Messi’s second time winning it, and he had this to say about it: “It’s great. It has been an amazing year, and it is a privilege for me to be here and to earn this award after all of my hard work. I couldn’t be here without the help of my other teammates.

“I was able to realize the dream that I had been working towards for such a long time. There aren’t many individuals who can accomplish that, therefore I consider myself quite fortunate to have done it.

Lionel Scaloni, who coached Argentina to their third World Cup victory, was awarded the title of men’s coach of the year at the ceremony that took place in Paris.

Scaloni was awarded this honor despite competition from Carlo Ancelotti, who led Real Madrid to victory in the Champions League, and Pep Guardiola, who led Manchester City to their sixth triumph in the Premier League.

After guiding the England Lionesses to victory in the European Championship on home soil the previous year, which was the team’s first major trophy, England manager Sarina Wiegman was awarded the title of women’s coach of the year.

Emiliano Martinez of Aston Villa and Argentina took up the title for best men’s goalkeeper, while Mary Earps of England took home the prize for best women’s goalkeeper.

Martinez, who is now 30 years old, was a key member of the team that won the World Cup for his country. Martinez made four penalty saves throughout the tournament, one of which came in the final shootout triumph over France.

Martinez, upon receiving his prize, remarked, “People often ask me who my inspirations are or who I watched when I was a youngster… I’ve got a long list.” witnessing my mother spend eight or nine hours a day cleaning buildings and watching my father go to work. Those are the models I look up to.

Earps, who is a member of Manchester United and plays in the Women’s Super League, was selected to start all six of England’s games at Euro 2022, where they went on to win the tournament.

She advised those who had been through difficult times to not give up and to remember that there is a glimmer of hope at the end of the passageway. You are capable of doing anything if you put your mind to it.

How Martinez rose to become the finest goalie in the world

Marcin Oleksy, a football player with an amputated leg who plays for the Polish club Warta Poznan, was awarded the Fifa Puskas trophy for the finest goal of the year. With the assistance of his crutches, he delivered a spectacular overhead volley that went straight into the back of the net while playing against Stal Rzeszow.

Luka Lochoshvili was given the medal for fair play because he held the mouth of his opponent, Georg Teigl, to prevent him from choking to death after the midfielder had passed out and was unconscious.

Fifpro men’s global XI: Thibaut Courtois; Achraf Hakimi, Virgil van Dijk, Joao Cancelo; Kevin De Bruyne, Luka Modric, Casemiro; Lionel Messi, Erling Haaland, Karim Benzema, Kylian Mbappe.

Complete list of prize winners:

  • Lionel Messi is the best player in the men’s competition.
  • Alexia Putellas is the best player in the women’s division.
  • Emiliano Martinez is the best goalie in the men’s game.
  • Mary Earps was regarded as the best goalie for women’s teams.
  • Lionel Scaloni is widely considered to be the best men’s coach.
  • Sarina Wiegman is the best coach for women’s teams.
  • The prize for the Best Puskas goes to Marcin Oleksy
  • The honor for the best fans goes to Argentina.
  • Luka Lochoshvili was awarded the prize for having the best fair play.

Related articles


Recent articles

whatsapp icon