25.8 C

On the list of teams who have won the Abu Dhabi T10, the only teams to do so twice are the Deccan Gladiators and the Northern Warriors


The inaugural edition of the Abu Dhabi T10 took place in 2017, and featured participation from six different teams.

These six teams were the Kerala Kings, the Maratha Arabians, the Pakhtoons, the Punjabi Legends, and the Bengal Tigers. Squad Sri Lanka was the seventh team.

In the end, the six-team competition was decided by the outcome of Kerala Kings’ last match against Punjabi Legends, which they won by eight wickets. Eoin Morgan, the captain of the Kings, led his club to victory in the first season by playing an outstanding knock of 63 runs off only 21 balls.

Luke Ronchi, who bat for the Punjabi Legends, was the player who finished with the most runs (197). The bowlers Sohail Tanvir, Rayad Emrit, and Hasan Ali each took five wickets to put them at the top of the charts that tracked who took the most.

After just one season, Team Sri Lanka was eliminated from the competition, which resulted in the expansion of the tournament to include three additional teams, bringing the total number of competitors to eight.

The Sindhis, the Rajputs, and the Northern Warriors were three of the teams that participated in the competition for the elusive trophy from the first season.

Despite this, the Northern Warriors, who were competing in their first season, performed heroically in the second season.

In the championship match, which was coached by Darren Samm, the team that was led by Rovman Powell’s magnificent knock of 61* was won over Pakhtoons by a score of 22 runs.

Nicholas Pooran, who played for the victorious team, finished with the most runs (324), whereas Hardus Viljoen, who played for the losing team and was the South African pacer, finished with the most wickets (18).

The same number of people took part in the third season as they had in the previous two. However, the Deccan Gladiators, Delhi Bulls, and Bangla Tigers were newly formed teams that took the place of The Sindhis, Bengal Tigers, and Pakhtoons respectively.

Maratha Arabians were victorious in the third version of the tournament, prevailing against Deccan Gladiators, who were playing in their first ever championship match, by a score of eight wickets.

In a game with little runs scored, the Arabians were victorious thanks to Chadwick Walton’s half-century.Chris Lynn, a star player on the victorious team, scored 371 runs during the competition, which is still the record for the most runs scored by a single player in a single season in the Abu Dhabi T10 tournament.

The victory of the Northern Warriors at the Abu Dhabi T10 2021 brought them their second championship in as many seasons.

As a result of Maheesh Theekshana’s disciplined bowling performance, the final score was once again a modest one. The Delhi Bulls were bowled out for 81 runs in ten overs. After then, the goal was easily accomplished, and there were even 10 balls left over.

Sohail Akhtar of the Qalandars hit the most runs in the competition with 248, but Jamie Overton of the Abu Dhabi team took the most wickets (12).

In each of the previous two seasons, the Deccan Gladiators were victorious and took home the trophy.

The Chennai Braves were the first team to take part in the game’s quickest version during the fifth season of the competition. There were just six teams competing because Maratha Arabians, Qalandars, and Pune Devils opted out of the league.

In the championship match against the Delhi Bulls, the Deccan Gladiators were led by Wahab Riaz and were ruthless as they posted a total of 159/0 in 10 overs. Big-hitter Andre Russel played an outstanding knock, hitting 90* off of just 32 balls.

The final score was a victory by 56 runs, giving them their first ever championship.

The Deccan Gladiators were the first team to ever win the ADT10 tournament in consecutive years.

Back to an eight-team competition, with two newcomers joining the fray in the form of New York Strikers and Morrisville Samp Army, the former made it all the way to the championship game, where they squared off against the reigning champions, Deccan Gladiators.

The Gladiators were victorious in the championship match by a margin of 37 runs, allowing them to add yet another championship trophy to their collection.

Related articles


Recent articles

whatsapp icon