25.8 C

Virat Kohli overtakes Mahela Jayawardene to become fourth among all international cricket run scorers in the IND vs. BAN match


In the cricket match, Indian batsman Virat Kohli accomplished an incredible performance. He moved up to become the fourth-highest run scorer in the history of international cricket, surpassing the legendary Mahela Jayawardene of Sri Lanka.

At the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune, during the ongoing 17th match of the ICC World Cup 2023 versus Bangladesh, Virat Kohli accomplished the accomplishment. Following their return to the hut, openers Rohit Sharma (48) and Shubman Gill (53), have stabilized the innings with the bat.

Virat Kohli is ensuring that his team stays in the game by perfectly timing the ball. After scoring runs against Australia and Afghanistan earlier in the ICC World Cup 2023, the right-hander has looked amazing. He hammered his third half-century.

Virat Kohli was 35 runs away from being the fourth-highest run scorer in the ODIs going into the bat. He appeared ready for a large total and might perhaps reach a hundred with the way he is batting. Another pursuit masterfully executed.

On the list of the top run scorers in international cricket, only Ricky Ponting, Sachin Tendulkar, and Kumar Sangakkara are ahead of Kohli at this point. It’s reasonable to say that, given his recent batting performance, he has the potential to top the tournament’s run score.

Prior to the game, India held Bangladesh to 256 runs in total. The team’s highest run scorers were Tanzid Hasan (51), and Litton Das (66). With two wickets apiece, Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja were the most effective bowlers. India got off to a fast start in the chase because to some aggressive batting from Rohit Sharma (48) and Shubman Gill (53), who created a solid foundation for the innings. It is now Kohli’s and Rahul’s responsibility to lead India home.

Top run scorers in international cricket between India and Bangladesh; Virat Kohli wins 4th place
In international cricket, the most runs:

Sachin Tendulkar, 34357; Kumar Sangakkara, 28016; Ricky Ponting, 27483; Virat Kohli, 25958*; and Mahela Jayawardene, 25957

Related articles


Recent articles

whatsapp icon