23.6 C

Zealand names 15-man Test squad for Pakistan tour without Trent Boult and recalls Ish Sodhi.


New Zealand has selected a 15-man team for the upcoming two-match Test series in Pakistan, which will begin on December 26. Leg-spinner Ish Sodhi has been recalled to the Test squad as part of this announcement. However, despite the fact that Glenn Phillips has also found his way back into the fold, pace leader Trent Boult has decided not to participate in the trip.

Sodhi, who made his first appearance with the red ball in 2013, competed in the final of his 17 Tests in the month of November 2018. In recent years, the Canterbury leg-spinner has been perceived almost exclusively as a specialist in white-ball cricket.

During this time, Phillips competed in his solitary test match against Australia in January of 2020.

Gary Stead, the head coach of the New Zealand cricket team, commented on Sodhi’s selection by saying that the conditions in Pakistan require the inclusion of a wrist spinner in the squad. Stead believes that Phillips’ off-spin will prove to be just as useful.

According to the official website for New Zealand Cricket, he was reported as saying:

Since Ish has been competing in international cricket for close to a decade, we are confident in his abilities and experience. When we consider the current conditions and the way the game is being played in the test series between Pakistan and England, we believe it will be vital to have a wrist-spinner on the team.

“It is abundantly evident that Glenn is an exceptionally talented batter, and we are thrilled to welcome him back into the Test squad for this tour.” His ability to bowl off-spin is another strength, especially when considering the possibility of twisting the ball.

Blair Tickner, a bowler for New Zealand’s cricket team who was included in the squad but did not play against South Africa during the home season, has been re-signed by the Black Caps.

As he continues to make progress in his recovery from a back ailment, seam bowler and all-rounder Kyle Jamieson is ineligible for selection.

Stead stated that they have been following the ongoing test series between England and Pakistan very attentively and are looking forward to the challenge that playing there would present. He remarked that.

“It’s going to be a fresh experience, and it’s going to be the kind of challenge that gets this bunch excited. We have, of course, been keeping a close eye on the ongoing Test series against England, and in particular on the last two Tests of the series, which will be contested in Multan and Karachi, respectively, where we will compete.

Tim Southee was selected to replace Kane Williamson as the captain of the Test team after Williamson tendered his resignation earlier. This will be the first series that the seamer, who is 34 years old, will lead New Zealand in as the permanent skipper.

New Zealand’s 15-man Test squad to face Pakistan:

Tim Southee (captain), Michael Bracewell, Tom Blundell (wicketkeeper), Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Glenn Phillips, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, and Will Young are the members of New Zealand’s 15-man Test squad that will compete against Pakistan.

Related articles


Recent articles

whatsapp icon