19.9 C

As the West Indies bat, Athanaze comes in. Jaiswal and Kishan make their debuts for India.


In the first Test between India and the West Indies at Windsor Park in Roseau, Dominica, Kraigg Brathwaite, the captain of the West Indies, won the toss and chose to bat first.

Brathwaite said that the field was wet and that the first hour would be very important. West Indies gave local hitter Alick Athanaze his first chance to play. Last month, Athanaze made his ODI debut against UAE in Sharjah and got a fast 50 runs.

India gave Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ishan Kishan, who was also the wicketkeeper for this Test, their first opportunities to hit with their left hands. On the day before the game, Rohit Sharma said that Jaiswal would start the batting and that Shubman Gill would move down to No. 3 because Cheteshwar Pujara would not be there. Kishan will be in the middle of the lineup.

India’s seam attack is made up of Mohammed Siraj, Jaydev Unadkat, and Shardul Thakur. Mohammed Shami, who has a lot of experience, is not there. R Ashwin is back in the team after missing the World Test Championship final. He will work in the spin area with Ravindra Jadeja.

Jomel Warrican and Rahkeem Cornwall were the two bowlers for the West Indies.

Since the beginning of 2020, the West Indies have been the best place for seam bowlers, while Roseau has been better for spin bowlers. But this is the first Test to be played at this location in six years.

West Indies: 1 Kraigg Brathwaite (capt), 2 Tagenarine Chanderpaul, 3 Raymon Reifer, 4 Jermaine Blackwood, 5 Alick Athanaze, 6 Jason Holder, 7 Joshua Da Silva (wk), 8 Rahkeem Cornwall, 9 Alzarri Joseph, 10 Kemar Roach, 11 Jomel Warrickn
India: 1 Rohit Sharma (capt), 2 Yashasvi Jaiswal, 3 Shubman Gill, 4 Virat Kohli, 5 Ajinkya Rahane, 6 Ravindra Jadeja, 7 Ishan Kishan (wk), 8 R Ashwin, 9 Shardul Thakur, 10 Jaydev Unadkat, 11 Mohammed Siraj

Related articles


Recent articles

whatsapp icon