25.1 C

Inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame are Virender Sehwag, Diana Edulji, and Aravinda de Silva


On Monday, Virender Sehwag, Diana Edulji, and Aravinda de Silva were inducted as the newest members of the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame.

The ICC said in a statement that “three game legends have become the latest inductees to be added to the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame.”

Edulji, a trailblazer in women’s cricket, was inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame as the first Indian woman.

“At the outset, I would like to thank the ICC and the Jury for having selected me to be inducted in the ICC Hall Of Fame 2023,” said Edulji. Being the first female cricket player from India to be inducted and join a galaxy of male and female cricket players from around the world is undoubtedly a huge honor.

It brings me great joy to be a candidate for this honor. This is a proud occasion not just for Indian women’s cricket and the BCCI, but also for me, my family, and my friends.”

During his three-decade career, Edulji, a former captain of India, participated in 20 Test matches and 34 One-Day Internationals. She was a left-arm spinner who claimed 107 wickets in all formats. After that, she had an influence as an administrator, trying to improve the job prospects for Indian female cricket players.

“It is perhaps off the field that Edulji has had an even greater impact, having played a major role as a trailblazer for India’s women’s cricketers for many decades,” the International Cricket Council stated.

The powerful opener Sehwag represented India in 104 Tests, 251 ODIs, and 19 T20Is. He also featured in the teams that won the 2007 T20 World Cup and the 2011 ODI World Cup.

“I would like to thank the ICC and the jury for inducting me with this honour,” Sehwag stated. “I feel extremely grateful for having spent a great part of my life doing what I loved most, ‘hitting the cricket ball’.”

In Tests, he amassed 8,586 runs and 23 centuries. He was one of just four players to score more than 300 runs in two Test matches and the first Indian player to reach a triple century. The other members of the select group were Chris Gayle, Brian Lara, and Don Bradman.

His 82.23 strike rate is evidence of his ability to score a ton of runs quickly in addition lot doing so in a hurry.

Even though Sehwag’s ODI performance was still somewhat modest, he amassed 8273 runs at a strike rate of 104.33 and scored 15 centuries. He still holds the third-highest score in the format with his 219 versus West Indies.

De Silva is renowned for his aggressive batting style. He helped Sri Lanka win the 1996 World Cup by hitting a century.

He scored 9284 runs in 308 ODIs and amassed 6361 runs in 93 Tests.

“As I receive the great honor of being inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame, I am overwhelmed with gratitude. “This accomplishment is a testament to the commitment, selflessness, and affection that have influenced my cricketing career,” de Silva stated. “My wife, kids, parents, sister, and family are my pillars. I am incredibly grateful to them for their sacrifices and steadfast support, which have helped me succeed. My buddies have been my rock solid supporters, with whom I have experienced both highs and lows.

“My will to succeed has been fueled by your unwavering belief in me, coaches, instructors, fans, and supporters. On this amazing adventure, my teammates have been my extended family, and my captains and mentors have inspired and directed me. I’d like to thank everyone I’ve played against for improving my game.

“I would like to express my profound gratitude to the ICC and the Hall of Fame voting committee for this outstanding honor. I am grateful to everyone who has supported and helped to shape me.

Related articles


Recent articles

whatsapp icon