19.9 C

The road to the semi-finals of the Cricket Twenty20 World Cup


Semi-finals of the Twenty20 World Cup are Wednesday in Sydney and Thursday in Adelaide.

AFP Sport looks at the final four teams’ journeys.


The Black Caps thrashed defending champions and hosts Australia by 89 runs to start the tournament.

Kane Williamson’s quickfire 61 helped New Zealand beat Ireland after faltering against England.

Last year’s beaten finalists won the tougher of the two Super 12 groups, ahead of pre-tournament favourites Australia and England.


The 2009 champions lost a last-ball thriller to India and then to Zimbabwe.

They looked dead and buried, and their victory over the Netherlands was unimpressive because they lost four wickets chasing 92.

Pakistan’s dominant performance against South Africa revived their semi-final hopes, and the Dutch stunned South Africa.

Babar Azam’s team beat Bangladesh to reach the semifinals, with Shaheen Shah Afridi taking 4-22.

Azam’s form is worrisome, with 39 runs in five matches.

England thrashed Afghanistan after bowling them out for 112 in their tournament opener in Perth.A DLS loss to Ireland and a washout against Australia put them in a bind.

Ben Stokes’ unbeaten 42 led England to a four-wicket win over Sri Lanka and into the semifinals.

Buttler and Hales hit half-centuries in their win over New Zealand, and Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, and Mark Wood were key.


Over 90,000 fans watched Virat Kohli’s masterclass to beat Pakistan’s 159 on the final ball.

Kohli scored three half-centuries to become the tournament’s top run-scorer, and India lost only once en route to the semifinals.

Suryakumar Yadav’s strike rate of 193.96 will be India’s key weapon in their bid for a first world title since the 2013 Champions Trophy.

India won the 2007 T20 World Cup and look threatening.

Related articles


Recent articles

whatsapp icon